If you weren't able to gain acceptance into the selective high school you wanted in year 7, here's your second chance. You can still apply for year 8 to 12 placements every year, albeit there are some that don't accept students in year 12. The availability of vacancies usually depends on how many students left the year before, and spots normally become more competitive the closer it is to the HSC. You can only apply for a maximum of 3 selective high schools in one year.

Unlike the year 7 tests, there is no standardised system for entrance. Even though there is a standard application form you have to complete, each school has their own additional forms and their own methods of assessing students for entry. Have a look here for the full list of selective high schools.  

Important: 2017 Years 8 to 12 Application Information Form


Key Dates

22 July 2016: 

  • Closing date for completed application forms to be submitted to chosen selective schools
    • A separate form must be submitted to each school you are applying for.


  • Students may be asked to sit an entrance test. You may also be interviewed by the principal or a selected panel and you're assessment is usually based on your academic results as well as involvement in extracurricular activities.


  • Outcome advice and result of application is sent to applicants.


Selective High School Entrance Information Pages

It is important to first find out the different enrolment procedures and processing costs of each selective high school by going onto their website. Furthermore, you may also have to contact the school to find out the availability of spots. To help you, below are the links to the enrolment information pages for each selective high school.

Alexandria Park Community School
Auburn Girls High School
Aurora High School
Baulkham Hills High School
Blacktown Boys High School
Blacktown Girls High School
Bonnyrigg High School
Caringbah High School
Chatswood High School
Duval High School
Elizabeth Macarthur High School
Farrer Memorial Agricultural High School
Fort Street High School
Girraween High School
Gorokan High School
Gosford High School
Grafton High School
Granville Boys High School
Hornsby Girls' High School
Hurlstone Agricultural High School
James Ruse Agricultural High School
Karabar High School
Kooringal High School
Macquarie Fields High School
Merewether High School
Moorebank High School
Normanhurst Boys' High School
North Sydney Boys High School
North Sydney Girls High School
Northern Beaches Secondary College (NBSC):Manly Selective Campus
Parramatta High School
Peel High School
Penrith High School
Prairiewood High School
Rose Bay Secondary College
Ryde Secondary College
Sefton High School
Smith's Hill High School
St George Girls High School
Sydney Boys High School
Sydney Girls High School
Sydney Secondary College Balmain Campus
Sydney Secondary College Blackwattle Bay Campus
Sydney Secondary College Leichhardt Campus
Sydney Technical High School
Tempe High School
Yanco Agricultural High School


Jack Zheng | N° 44